Microbrewery License

Introduction

Microbrewery License:

Allows the manufacturer and storage of not less than 100 nor more than 15,000 barrels of domestic beer per year. The sale of beer manufactured by the licensee in the original unopened container to be consumed off the licensed premise. May provide free samples on the licensed premise and at special events monitored and regulated by the ABC.

Microbrewery Packaging and Warehousing Facility License:

Allows existing microbrewery licensees to move products from their brewery to a separate facility for packaging and/or storage and delivery to a licensed beer distributor.

See the ABC Publication "Handbook for Microbreweries" for additional information.

Change in Kansas Liquor Laws:

Due to changes in the 2012 legislative session, employee registration and salesperson permits are no longer required effective July 1, 2012.

Overview of Application Process

When you apply for a new retailer license or renew your existing license, it will be for a two year license term and it must be renewed biannually. You will have the option to either:

  • pay the license fee and the registration fee in full or
  • pay half of the license fee plus the registration fee with your application and pay the remaining half of the license fee plus a 10 percent surcharge within one year from the date your license was issued. Note: If you do not pay your remaining license fee and the 10 percent surcharge when it is due, your license will automatically be cancelled.

Employee Requirements

No microbrewery shall:

  • employ any person under the age of 18 years in connection with the manufacture, sale of any domestic beer;
  • permit any employee of the licensee who is under the age of 21 years to work on the licensed premises at any time when not under the on-premises supervision of either the licensee or an employee of the licensee who is 21 years of age or over;
  • employee any person under 21 years of age in connection with dispensing domestic beer; or,
  • employ any person in connection with the manufacture or sale of domestic beer if the person has been convicted of a felony.
  • be an officer, agent or employee of a manufacturer, distributor or retailer in the capacity of a person to mix, serve, sell or dispense alcoholic liquor; or,
  • have been convicted within the previous two years of a violation of any Kansas intoxicating liquor laws.

Licensing and Tax Registration Packets

Applying for a New Microbrewery and/or Microbrewery Packaging and Warehousing Facilities** License

**You must have an active Microbrewery license before you are eligible for a Microbrewery Packaging and Warehousing Facilities license.

Renewing Your Microbrewery and/or Microbrewery Packaging and Warehousing Facility Licenses

Microbrewery Brand Registration and Label Approval Forms

Online

Register your brands and labels online and remit your payment electronically. Get started now by clicking on the button below!

Register Brands and Labels Online

Print and Mail My Application

Select the required forms for your transaction then print, complete and submit your application with payment enclosed.

Microbrewery Monthly Return and Report

Other Forms

Need Help?

If you have questions or need assistance, visit our Contact Us page to locate your assigned Licensing Representative.

Back to the Alcoholic Beverage Control main page