Frequently Asked Questions About Revocation or Suspension
Click on a question below to see the answer.
- How do I get a copy of my driving record?
You now have access to view and securely pay for your driving record online at https://www.accesskansas.org/ssrv-mvr-ltd/ 24 hours a day, seven days a week. The fee for purchasing a driving record online is $6.60.
You can also go to any Kansas Driver's License Exam station. You will need to show your current driver's license for identification and make a $10 payment by check or money order payable to "Driver Control". You can also come to our office at the Docking State Office Building in Topeka during business hours, or send a written request with your full name, driver's license number, date of birth and current address along with your $10 payment to: Driver Control Bureau, P.O. Box 12021, Topeka, KS 66612-2021.
- How do I get a copy of another person's driving record if approved by that individual?
You can come our office at the Docking State Office Building in Topeka, or send a letter with the person's full name, driver's license number, date of birth and your current mailing address to Driver Control Bureau, P.O. Box 12021, Topeka, KS 66612-2021. You must ALSO PROVIDE a letter signed by the driver authorizing you to have a copy of their driving record OR a completed 3rd Party Consent Form (TR/DL301) filled out by the driver ALONG with a $10 check or money order payable to "Driver Control". If coming in person to our office, cash payments can be accepted.
- How do I read my driving record?
Click here for help on how to read a driving record and to view the Kansas Driving Record codes (DC-9). If you still need help, you can call 785-296-3671 and a customer service representative will be glad to assist you.
- How can I submit a change of address?
Kansas law requires you to let us know of a change of address within 10 days. The easiest and fastest way to change an in-state address is to submit your address change using the Internet. Simply click here for the online address change form, fill it out and submit it electronically to us following the instructions provided. Otherwise, you can go to any Driver's License Examination Station to make an address change, OR you can download the form DC-1 by clicking here and mail your address change to us. Please be sure to include your full name, driver's license number, date of birth AND your new mailing address. Do not include periods or commas.
- How do I get a clearance letter to get a license in another state?
Submit a letter requesting a clearance letter to the mailing address shown above. Please include your name, driver's license number, and current address if other than the address on your driver's license ALONG with a $15 check or money order payable to "Driver Control."
CAUTION: A clearance letter cannot be provided if your Kansas driving privileges are currently restricted, suspended, revoked or cancelled. If you have a question regarding your current driving status, you can call 785-296-3671 and a customer service representative will be glad to assist you.
- Can I pay my drivers license reinstatement fee online?
Yes, you may pay your drivers license reinstatement fee online, if your drivers license was suspended due to an insurance matter. Drivers License reinstatement payments will be accepted through Kan-Pay Service Express and forwarded to the Division of Vehicles, Driver Control Bureau for processing. Payment is accepted by all major credit cards and by e-check. You will be charged a non-refundable convenience fee for use of this service. To make your payment, click here and you will be redirected to KanPay Service Express. This payment service is only for the payment of insurance related reinstatements. You may not pay for traffic tickets, motor vehicle records or alcohol related reinstatements through KanPay Service Express.
- Can I get a hardship driver’s license?
Kansas laws do not allow the issuance of a hardship license, that would allow a person to drive during the length of their suspension, revocation, cancellation or disqualification period.
- Where can I get an ignition interlock device installed on my vehicle(s)?
Only approved ignition interlock devices can be installed. To see a list of those approved for installation in Kansas click here. If you received an ignition interlock restriction notice, you need to take that letter to the service provider when ready to have the device installed on your vehicle. If you do not have an ignition interlock restriction notice, you need to submit a request to Driver Control Bureau, P.O. Box 12021, Topeka, KS 66612-2021 to get approval to have an ignition interlock device installed.
- Are there any exceptions to one's driving privileges when that person is restricted to only operating a motor vehicle with an ignition interlock device?
Yes; a person who is restricted to operating only a vehicle with an ignition interlock device may operate an employer's vehicle without an ignition interlock device during normal business hours, provided that the person does not partly or entirely own or control the employer's vehicle or business. (K.S.A. 8-1014(h) applies).