Frequently Asked Questions - Titling a Vehicle
To avoid penalty, you must apply within 60 days of the date you purchased the vehicle.
When a vehicle has been located in Kansas for up to 90 days or more, including frequent absences (leaving for weekends with the intent of returning) application for Kansas title and registration is required. This includes vehicles owned by someone outside of Kansas but have been loaned to someone in Kansas to use within this state. The person borrowing the vehicle will need a Power of Attorney, Form TR-41 from the owner to complete the application for title and registration. The “owner’s name” on the title should appear as follows:
c/o Borrower’s Name
Borrower’s City, KS ZIP
The Kansas Division of Vehicles does not require most title assignments, title applications and bills of sale completed within Kansas to be notarized. The Division reserves the right to require notarized documentation in unusual circumstances.
However, a release of lien, lienholder consent from a Kansas lienholder and the lienholder's portion of the Request and Consent for Kansas Title to be Issued with Lien (TR-42), are required to be notarized.
Depending on the length of time between the date of purchase and date of application, a title (with no lienholder) may be received from 10 to 40 days after the date of application, unless further research or documentation is required. All title applications are held by the computer system for 35 days from date of purchase to allow for any Notices of Security Interest (NSI) to be filed. An NSI must be filed within 30 days of the date of purchase. The additional five days is necessary to allow the Division time to enter the data from paper NSI filings into the computer system.
Titles that have a lienholder recorded on file are held electronically and will not be physically issued until there are no liens for the vehicle on record.
No, application for original (new) title and registration (license plate) must be made at the county treasurer's office in the county in which the vehicle will be located/garaged.
Titles that have a lienholder on file will not be issued until there are no liens for the vehicle on record. Vehicles that do not have a lienholder will normally be issued a title in 10 to 40 days after application. If you do not have your title by the end of the sixth week, please contact the Titles and Registrations Bureau.
If there is a lienholder on the title, a duplicate title application cannot be accepted at the county treasurer’s motor vehicle office nor will the Division of Vehicles issue a duplicate title as long as the lienholder is indicated on the vehicle’s computer record. To determine if there is a lienholder listed on the vehicle record look at the latest registration receipt issued for the vehicle or trailer. If there is a lienholder listed, a lien release will be required before a duplicate title will be issued (it will be a reissued title to remove the lienholder from the computer record and the title).
If there is no lienholder for the vehicle, a duplicate title application can be completed at any county treasurer's motor vehicle office or by mail directly to the Titles and Registrations Bureau. You will need to complete the Application for Secured/Duplicate/Reissue Title, form TR-720B that includes the following information: vehicle year, make and identification number, owner's name(s) and the current odometer reading. Include appropriate title fee. The title fee in Kansas is $10. There is an additional $3 application fee for a repossession title.
A power of attorney is required when the person(s) listed on the face of a title (who is still living) is appointing or authorizing someone else to act as the vehicle owner. This will include assignment of title, renewal of registration, application for title and registration, and bringing the application to and/or picking up the printed title at the Titles and Registration Bureau. A power of attorney is not valid if the person making the appointment is deceased. A faxed or photo copy of the form will not be accepted. All signature(s) must be in the original ink.
In Kansas, there are three different power of attorney forms; General Power of Attorney (TR-41); Power of Attorney and Odometer Disclosure for Electronic Title (TR-40); and the Secure Power of Attorney. The TR-40 and TR-41 forms are available on our website. The Secure Power of Attorney may be obtained from a licensed Kansas new or used vehicle dealership. There is a fee associated with the Secure Power of Attorney, please contact the dealership to obtain the cost of the form. For more information about power of attorney requirements, please refer to the Division's forms identified above.
The following are the circumstances when a Motor Vehicle Examination (MVE-1) will be required before making application for title:
- Vehicle or trailer is titled on an out of state or another country’s title, regardless of age;
- Vehicle or trailer was purchased out of state on a bill of sale, regardless of age;
- 1950 or newer antique auto or truck purchased in Kansas on a bill of sale;
- Vehicle is titled as non-highway for no liability insurance or as salvage due to any reason and the vehicle has been repaired or insurance obtained and the owner wishes to make application for a formerly non-highway or rebuilt salvage title and registration;
- Boat trailer with a gross operating weight of 2,001 pounds or more that has never been titled in Kansas and the current owner is using a Vehicle/Motor Ownership Affidavit, Form TR-90.
Motorized bicycles and mobile or manufactured homes are NOT required to be inspected. A vehicle or trailer along with the title or bill of sale must be taken to a Kansas motor vehicle inspection station and after the inspection, be issued an MVE-1 receipt. The pink copy of the MVE-1 is to be surrendered to the county treasurer’s motor vehicle office when you make application for title and registration. Please review the Kansas Highway Patrol's website to find the location and hours of operation of the inspection station in your county or area.
Kansas does not have a safety or emissions inspection requirement or program.
To qualify for an Out of State VIN Verification in lieu of the MVE-1 the Kansas resident/business must meet one of the following:
- Resident is on active military duty stationed in another state;
- Resident is attending a college, university or school in another state as a full time student;
- Any out-of-state title application for Kansas apportioned registration that requires a VIN inspection (MVE-1) and the vehicle is not in Kansas, or;
- Resident or business vehicle is "temporarily" in another state for reasonable cause (i.e.-working on a short term basis, seasonal resident).
Eligible applicants are encouraged to use the Kansas Resident/Business Out of State VIN Verification, Form TR-65. Follow the instructions on the form. The completed form will be accepted* in lieu of the MVE-1.
*For an applicant claiming temporarily out of Kansas, the applicant will only be able to use the TR-65 to submit their application for title and registration. The vehicle must be returned to Kansas and an MVE-1 obtained and submitted to your local county treasurer’s office before the Kansas title will be issued (printed). Vehicles with pending title applications awaiting an MVE-1 will not be allowed to renew their registration. Failure to return the vehicle to Kansas will result in the title application not being completed (no title printed) and the registration not being renewed.
The title fee in Kansas is $10. There is an additional $3 application fee for a repossession title.
To transfer ownership, the title for the vehicle or trailer must be assigned to the new owner. The seller must complete all information on the assignment of title except for the buyer’s printed name and signature. If the title assignment does not have a space to record the purchase price, a Bill of Sale (page 2 of Form TR-12) will also be required.
If the vehicle is being given as a gift, the Vehicle Gift Certification portion of the Affidavit to a Fact (TR-12), must be completed. If the assignment of title has the “purchase price” space in the assignment of title, write the word “gift” in this space. If the buyer and seller are related as child, parent, grandchild or grandparent, an Affidavit of Relationship, Form TR-215 can be completed and attached instead of the TR-12. The previous owner must remove their license plate from the vehicle or trailer once the title is assigned and the vehicle or trailer is delivered. A seller may unilaterally create a presumption of sale/transfer by filing a Seller's Notification of Sale, Form TR-216 with the Division.
You will need to take the vehicle and the title* for the vehicle to a Kansas motor vehicle inspection station and obtain a Motor Vehicle Examination (form MVE-1) before going to the county treasurer’s motor vehicle office. Contact your local county treasurer’s office or check the Kansas Highway Patrol website at http://www.kansashighwaypatrol.org/BusinessDirectoryii.aspx concerning the location and hours of operation of the inspection station. Take the title*, the pink copy of the MVE-1 and proof of insurance with you to the county treasurer’s motor vehicle office to make application for a Kansas title and registration.
*If the title is being held by your lienholder or if the vehicle is being leased, the lienholder or leasing company will need to fax the front and back of the title to the county treasurer's office or the motor vehicle inspection station. The faxed copies will be used to complete the motor vehicle examination resulting in the issuance of an MVE-1. Take proof of insurance, the pink copy of the MVE-1, the copies of the front and back of the title, and a current valid registration receipt from the state in which the vehicle was last registered (the treasurer’s office will not accept an expired registration) to the county treasurer's motor vehicle office and make application for title and registration. If the paperwork is complete, a license plate will be issued at that time. The county office will send a letter to the lienholder or leasing company requesting they surrender the title they are holding. A new Kansas title will be issued and mailed back to leasing company, if there is no lienholder. If there is a lien on the vehicle, the Kansas Division of Vehicles will hold the title electronically until the lien is released. If the lienholder or leasing company will not surrender the title, the applicant and the lienholder or leasing company will need to work out a way for the title to be surrendered, or the registration will not be renewed. The vehicle cannot be operated without valid/current registration.
If the title is being held electronically by another state, the current valid registration receipt from the state in which the vehicle was last registered will be used as proof of ownership for accepting the application for title and registration. The county office will correspond with the lienholder and/or the other state to request the title be surrendered. If the title is not surrendered, the applicant and the lienholder or leasing company will need to work out a way for the title to be surrendered, or the registration will not be renewed. The vehicle cannot be operated without valid/current registration.
NOTE: You will have 60 days from the date the letter is sent to the lienholder requesting the title to complete the application for title. (If there are other issues with the application, a letter will be mailed to the applicant to resolve the problem(s).) After 60 days, the registration (license plate) will not be renewed until the title application is completed (all requested information is received). It is the applicant’s/owner’s responsibility to ensure the title is surrendered to the division by the lienholder.
Proof of insurance is required to be presented when a vehicle registration (license plate) is issued or renewed.
Proof of insurance can be the original or copy of the insurance coverage and must have:
Individuals or Small Business: The name of the insurance company, the policy number, name of the owner, the effective and expiration date of the coverage, the year, make and VIN for the vehicle. You will need proof of insurance for each vehicle.
If the vehicle is newly acquired and you are transferring the license plate from a vehicle you traded in or recently sold, you may use the proof of insurance from the vehicle which was traded in or recently sold. (Recently means within the last 30 days.)
If the vehicle is newly acquired and you are NOT transferring a license plate you will need a binder from your insurance agent. The binder will need the name of the insurance company, name of the owner, the effective and expiration date of the coverage, the year, make and VIN for the vehicle, and policy number if available.
Fleet or commercial vehicles: The name of the insurance company, the policy number, name of the owner, the effective and expiration date of the coverage, and a reference that the coverage is for fleet or commercial vehicles.
Legal heirs may apply for a Decedent’s Title, Form TR-83a, or use the Claim of Heir Affidavit, Form TR-83b, by completing either of the forms and taking the completed form, the Lienholder Consent to Transfer Ownership, Form TR-128, and a copy of the current registration or verification of ownership to their local county treasurer’s motor vehicle office. The executors or administrators of estates may apply for an original title using the same process. A trustee may transfer property by using a Certificate of Trust, Form TR-81. A title fee will apply, along with any other appropriate fees or taxes.
If the lien has been paid off, use the assignment portion of the Lienholder Consent to Transfer Ownership, Form TR-128, attach the lien release in lieu of the lienholder’s portion of the consent and go to your local county treasurer’s motor vehicle office and make application for title. The executors or administrators of estates, per the probated will, may apply for an original title through the same process.
Any vehicle, including an antique military vehicle, 35 years old or older, propelled by a motor using petroleum fuel, steam or electricity or any combination thereof is considered an antique vehicle.
Antique military vehicle is a vehicle, regardless of the vehicle’s size or weight, which was manufactured for use in any country’s military forces and is maintained to represent its military design, except that an antique military vehicle shall not include a fully tracked vehicle. If the antique vehicle has had any of its major component parts (engine and/or transmission; frame; body) replaced with parts from the same vintage, make and model vehicle it will still be considered an antique. Contact the Kansas Highway Patrol (KHP) if you have questions concerning if the replacement part(s) meet the same vintage, make and model requirement.
If any of the major component parts do not maintain the vehicle’s antique status it must be retitled and registered as regular vehicle. If a vehicle that is titled as antique is wrecked or damage and a major component part(s) is replaced, contact the KHP with any questions concerning if the vehicle is still qualified as an antique.
For antique vehicles having a model year of 1949 or before, the application together with a bill of sale for the antique vehicle or an assigned title shall be accepted as prima facie evidence that the applicant is the owner of the vehicle and the certificate of title shall be issued for such antique vehicle.
For antique vehicles having a model year of 1950 or after purchased on a bill of sale (from a Kansas or out of state seller) or on an out of state title, an inspection in accordance with subsection (a) of K.S.A. 8-116a, and amendments thereto, must be completed and an MVE-1 issued. Use the link to KHP above to contact the Highway Patrol concerning locations of inspection stations and hours of operation. Take the assigned title or bill of sale, the inspection receipt (pink copy of the MVE-1) if applicable, and proof of insurance, if also applying for registration, to your local county treasurer’s motor vehicle office to make application for an antique title and registration. If the vehicle is not roadworthy at the time of application, the owner may apply for an antique title only. Once the vehicle is restored/made roadworthy, return to the treasurer’s office and apply for antique registration only.
A motorized bicycle means every device having two tandem wheels or three wheels which may be propelled by either human power or helper motor, or by both, and which has all of the following:
(a) A motor which produces not more than 3.5 brake horsepower;
(b) a cylinder capacity of not more than 130 cubic centimeters;
(c) an automatic transmission; and
(d) the capability of a maximum design speed of no more than 30 miles per hour except a low power cycle.
If the vehicle satisfies all of these requirements the Motorized Bicycle Operation Verification, Form TR-MB2014 will need to be completed and submitted to your local county treasurer’s motor vehicle office. If the vehicle does not satisfy these requirements, the Division will not title or register the vehicle in Kansas. If the vehicle exceeds any of the number values or has a manual transmission, it will be considered a motorcycle and will be titled and registered as such.
Kansas does not title boats or watercraft. Visit the Kansas Department of Wildlife and Parks to learn more about boat registration requirements in Kansas.
Boat trailers must be titled and registered if the gross operating weight* is 2,001 pounds or more. If the owner of a boat trailer, which is required to be titled, is going to sell or transfer ownership of the trailer which has never been titled, he or she must obtain a title in his or her name before selling or transferring ownership. To obtain a title for the boat trailer the owner must complete a Vehicle/Motor Ownership Affidavit, Form TR-90.
*Gross operating weight means the weight of the trailer and all load (boat, fuel, gear, etc) transported thereon.
If the boat trailer has a gross operating weight of 2,000 pounds or less, title and registration is at the owner’s option. The trailer may be sold on a bill of sale, page 2 of Form TR-12.
In Kansas, if there is more than one owner showing on the face of the title or as buyers on an assignment, the following number of signatures will be required when there is the connection between the names shown below:
- And - All persons listed before and after the “and” must sign.
- and/or - Either person listed can sign, only one signature required.
- Or - Either person listed can sign. Only one signature is required.
Due to difficulties with other titling jurisdictions interpretation of “and/or” differently than that from Kansas, it is suggested that if you want only one person to be allowed to sign all transactions for a vehicle, the word “or” should be used between names.
The Kansas Division of Vehicle interprets two or more names with no connection between the names to be “and”, which will require all persons listed to sign as owner.
An 8.5” X 11” Kansas title that contains a brand printed under Vehicle Brands on the right hand side of the title is a branded title. The branding is a statement of a preexisting condition of the vehicle or title status.
Take the title to your local county treasurer’s motor vehicle office and apply for a corrected title. If the title is electronic, take the title and registration receipt to the treasurer’s motor vehicle office. There is no fee at the time of application for a corrected title. The Titles and Registrations Bureau will research the error. If the error occurred at the county or the state, there is no fee for the correction. If the title was issued according to the paperwork submitted, a letter will be sent to the applicant requesting a title fee, which is $10. There is an additional $3 application fee for a repossession title.
You can take your title, along with the completed title application, Form TR-212a, to your local county treasurer’s motor vehicle office to add or remove an owner from the title record. If you are adding any names that are not immediate family members (spouse, father, mother, son and/or daughter), it is considered an original title application and all fees and taxes will be assessed. Use the purchaser’s name space on the back of the title to record ALL the names that are to appear on the new title. The vehicle title record will be changed and the owner will be issued a new registration receipt and new title. A title fee will apply, along with any other appropriate fees or taxes.
The lienholder must complete Lienholder’s Consent to Transfer Ownership, Form TR-128, to remove a name(s) (at least one of the original owners must stay on the title), or to add a spouse, father, mother, son or daughter, or to change a person’s name due to marriage or court order (legal document must also be attached to the title application). The TR-128 should be submitted to your local county treasurer’s vehicle office, along with the registration receipt or verification showing the current lien and indicates that the title is being held in electronic format (E-Title). A title fee will apply (which is $10 and an additional $3 application fee for a repossession title), along with any other appropriate fees or taxes.
If the owner's name change is due to marriage or court order, the county treasurer will require a copy of the marriage license or the court order. You can take your title, along with the copy of the marriage license or court order, to your local county treasurer’s motor vehicle office to update the name on the title record. On the back of the title, use the purchaser’s name space to record ALL the names that are to appear on the new title. If there is a lienholder for the vehicle, a Lienholder’s Consent to Transfer Ownership, form TR-128, must be completed and signed and notarized by the lienholder. Use the assignment space on the bottom of the TR-128 to show the new name. A title fee is required for this transaction (which is $10 and an additional $3 application fee for a repossession title).
Kansas cannot print a title with lien. However, the Kansas Division of Vehicles has established a procedure to assist Kansans that have moved to another state and the Kansas title is being held electronically. The owner(s) will need the lienholder AND the new state’s motor vehicle agency to complete a Request and Consent for Kansas Title to be Issued with Lien, form TR-42. Once both the lienholder and the new state’s motor vehicle agency complete their portion of the TR-42, fax the form to 785-296-2383. The Kansas title with the lien recorded on the face will be issued and mailed directly to the new state’s motor vehicle agency.
NOTE: The Division of Vehicles has heard that there are a few states that allegedly will not complete the titling jurisdiction’s portion of the TR-42. The Kansas Division of Vehicles cannot issue titles with liens that go to the lienholder or owner. If a state refuses to complete the TR-42, there are only two alternatives: The current lienholder can release their lien, have the title mailed directly to them and then record their lien on the back of the Kansas title that is submitted to the new state; or payoff the lien by refinancing with a new lienholder in their new state.
Kansas law requires trailers to be titled and registered. There are three exceptions to the trailer titling/registration requirement. The three exceptions are:
- Farm trailers hauling 6,000 pounds or less of agricultural product are exempt from title and registration. The weight of the trailer itself is not figured as part of the 6,000 pounds.
- Farm trailers used and designed for transporting hay or forage from a field to a storage area or from a storage area to a feedlot, which is only incidentally moved or operated upon the highways, except this exception does not apply to farm semitrailers; and
- Trailer with an operating weight of 2,000 pounds or less may be titled and registered at the owner’s option, they are not required to be titled and registered. Operating weight means the total weight of the trailer and any load transported thereon. A trailer meeting the 2,000 pounds exemption may be sold on a bill of sale.
Buying or Selling a Vehicle
To have your name removed as vehicle owner from the vehicle record after the title has been assigned and delivered to the new owner, a Seller's Notification of Sale, Form TR-216 may be completed and submitted to the Titles and Registrations Bureau along with the required fee listed on the form.
To ensure that you have proof of transfer of ownership, make a copy of the front and back of the title after it has been assigned to the buyer.
When you transfer or surrender the registration (license plate), in the county treasurer’s motor vehicle office, the record for the disposed vehicle showing your name as owner will no longer be the current ownership record and you will not need to file a Seller’s Notification of Sale form.
IMPORTANT: Always remove the license plate(s) from a vehicle or trailer you have sold or disposed of.
Both of these questions need to be addressed to the Kansas Attorney General Consumer Protection Division.
If the seller does not give the buyer a properly assigned title and cannot be contacted or located, the buyer must consult with an attorney and go to court to obtain a court order authorizing the Kansas Department of Revenue to title the vehicle in the name of the petitioner (quiet title action).
No. Never deliver or accept a title that is not completely and properly assigned. It is a violation of Kansas law to fail to show complete chain of ownership of the title.
The dealer should ask for the current registration receipt from the customer. In the event that the customer does not have their registration receipt, they should be instructed to obtain a duplicate receipt from the county treasurer. Duplicate registrations may only be obtained if the vehicle has a current, valid registration. If the registration receipt does not show a lien, the customer or dealer may obtain a duplicate title through the normal process. However, if the registration indicates there is a lien on the vehicle, the dealer should have the seller complete a secure power of attorney, provide a registration receipt or vehicle verification before accepting the vehicle as a trade. With these documents, the dealer may obtain the lien release and subsequent title to resell the vehicle. It is important to remember that if a dealer is making a payoff on behalf of a customer for a vehicle they have taken in trade, explicit instructions should be provided to the bank or lienholder so that the title, or lien release, will be faxed directly to the county treasurer or the Division of Vehicles.
Salvage, Nonhighway, Nonrepairable, Rebuilt Salvage and Formerly Nonhighway
No. Once a vehicle's title has been branded as salvage, all succeeding titles will reflect this condition while titled in Kansas. Refer to the question concerning inspections in these FAQ’s.
After the vehicle is repaired (salvage vehicle) or insurance has been obtained (nonhighway vehicle), take the vehicle to Kansas Highway Patrol motor vehicle inspection station have it inspected and issued a motor vehicle examination (MVE-1). Take the salvage or non-highway title, the pink copy of the MVE-1 and proof of insurance to the county treasurer’s motor vehicle office and make application for a rebuilt salvage or formerly nonhighway title. If the title has a lien and is being held electronically, take your current registration receipt or verification showing the title is being held electronically (E-Title). Contact the county treasurer’s motor vehicle office or Kansas Highway Patrol concerning the location and hours of operation of the inspection station.
The rebuilt salvage title will be issued reflecting the branding of rebuilt salvage. The formerly nonhighway title will not have a branding reflected on the title.
No. Vehicles that are titled as nonrepairable, junk, destruction, etc., are to be used as parts only or scrap vehicles. These vehicles are not to be sold as complete units (all in one piece) and you cannot apply for any type of title or registration in Kansas. If the titling jurisdiction (state) that issued the ownership document allows for the vehicle to be repaired and returned to roadworthy operation, that state will have to issue a title (salvage or rebuilt salvage) before making application for a Kansas rebuilt salvage certificate of title and registration.
This is an increasingly occurring problem with vehicles purchased over the internet. It is strongly recommended that before paying for a vehicle you use one of the internet services that provide a complete vehicle history. If this is not possible, request the seller to fax or email you an image of the front and back of the title. If no title is available, request the seller to obtain a vehicle history from the state in which the vehicle is currently title and/or registered. The name of the owner on the history should be the name of the person from which you are purchasing the vehicle to help ensure it is a current record.
A nonhighway or salvage vehicle titled on a Kansas nonhighway or salvage title can be titled in any other state once you comply with that state’s requirement for making a salvage or nonhighway vehicle eligible for registration (repaired, restored, made roadworthy, etc).
NOTE: A Kansas nonrepairable vehicle issued a nonrepairable vehicle certificate is not to be titled nor registered ever again in Kansas or any other titling jurisdiction. Kansas will not remove the nonrepairable designation nor ever register the vehicle again.
No. Out of state vehicles titled with a nonrepairable or junk certificate or certificate of destruction, etc, will not be inspected by the Kansas Highway Patrol and will not be issued any type of certificate of title by the Kansas Division of Vehicles. This vehicle cannot be sold as a unit (complete vehicle) and is only to be used as a source of parts or scrap.
Complete a Salvage, Non-Highway or Non-Repairable Affidavit, Form TR-13. Take the completed TR-13, the current title or the registration receipt if there is a lien on the vehicle and the title is being held electronically, and letter from insurance company showing the vehicle was salvaged to your local county treasurer’s motor vehicle office and make application for the salvage title. At the same time when making application for the salvage title you will also need to obtain an Inspection (One Day) Permit so you can drive the vehicle to the inspection station (once a vehicle has been deemed salvage, you cannot operate the vehicle on the roadways with license plates, only the inspection permit).
Take the vehicle and the salvage title application receipt to the Kansas Highway Patrol to get a rebuilt salvage inspection and obtain an MVE-1 and have the rebuilt salvage decal affixed to the vehicle. Take the pink copy of the MVE-1, proof of insurance and the salvage title application receipt back to the county treasurer’s motor vehicle office and make application for a rebuilt salvage title. This may all be done on the same day.
**If the brand on the title is incorrect, you have 60 days to notify the state or county to correct the misbranding. If you do not correct this within the 60-day period, it will not be able to be fixed.**
Manufactured / Mobile Home
Yes, non-affixed manufactured homes and mobile homes are required to be titled as per K.S.A. 58-4204.
Manufactured and mobile homes are required to be titled as per K.S.A. 58-4204.
To transfer ownership, the manufacturer’s certificate/statement of origin (MSO) (for new homes) or the title for the manufactured or mobile home must be assigned to the new owner (for used homes). The seller must complete all information (except odometer) on the assignment except for the buyer’s printed name and signature.
If the seller does not have a title for the manufactured or mobile home he or she will need to obtain the title before transferring ownership. An owner of a manufactured or mobile home with a model year of 1979 or older may use the Manufactured or Mobile Home Ownership Affidavit, Form TR-64, and proof of preceding 5 years of property taxes as proof of ownership, if there is no record of the manufactured home being previously title in Kansas.
If you are unable to locate the VIN/Serial Number of the manufactured/mobile home, a court order (quiet title) will be needed in order to obtain the title.
A mobile or manufactured home cannot be sold on a bill of sale.
New Manufactured (Mobile) Homes / House Trailers are required to pay sales tax. Sales tax will be based on 60 percent of the purchase price prior to any trade in allowance. Used Mobile Homes / House Trailers are exempt from paying sales tax.
Yes, the Division will consider the homes to be real property if; 1) the home has been permanently affixed, and 2) the pre-existing title has been terminated pursuant to K.S.A 58-4214 and Division Form TR-63. If the owner and lienholder, if applicable, agree to eliminate the title, and the above requirements have been met, the manufactured or mobile home will be considered real property.
In Kansas, an ATV (defined in K.S.A 8-126(a)) must be titled as nonhighway due to the ATV not being manufactured for street use. An ATV being sold or traded-in must be titled in the name of the person(s) selling the ATV. The buyer will have 60 days from date of purchase (date of title assignment) to apply for nonhighway title in his or her name. Any person who, on July 1, 1996, is the owner of an ATV does not have to obtain a nonhighway title until they are going to transfer ownership.
It is unlawful for any person to operate an all-terrain vehicle: (1) On any interstate highway, federal highway or state highway; or (2) within the corporate limits of any city unless authorized by such city. Check with the city officials as to if your community has authorized the operation of ATV's.
In Kansas, a work-site utility vehicle (defined in K.S.A 8-126(ss)) must be titled as nonhighway due to the work-site utility vehicle not being manufactured for street use. A work-site utility vehicle being sold or traded-in must be titled in the name of the person(s) selling the work-site utility vehicle. The buyer will have 60 days from date of purchase (date of title assignment) to apply for nonhighway title in his or her name. Any person who, on July 1, 2006, is the owner of a work-site utility vehicle does not have to obtain a nonhighway title until they are going to transfer ownership.
It is unlawful for any person to operate a work-site utility vehicle: (1) On any interstate highway, federal highway or state highway; or (2) within the corporate limits of any city unless authorized by such city. Check with the city officials as to if your community has authorized the operation of work-site utility vehicle.
In Kansas, a micro utility truck (defined in K.S.A 8-126(t)) must be titled as nonhighway due to the micro utility truck not being manufactured for street use. A micro utility truck being sold or traded-in must be titled in the name of the person(s) selling the micro utility truck. The buyer will have 60 days from date of purchase (date of title assignment) to apply for nonhighway title in his or her name.
It is unlawful for any person to operate a micro utility truck: (1) On any interstate highway, federal highway or state highway; or (2) within the corporate limits of any city unless authorized by such city. Check with the city officials as to if your community has authorized the operation of micro utility truck.
Kansas does not title or register golf carts.
However, low speed vehicles (LSV) are titled and registered in Kansas and LSV’s can be accessorized to be used as golf carts. The National Highway Traffic and Safety Administration has a web site that defines the requirements a LSV must meet.
Kansas statute K.S.A 8-1488 defines a low-speed vehicle to mean any four-wheeled electric vehicle whose top speed is greater than 20 miles per hour but not greater than 25 miles per hour and is manufactured in compliance with the national highway and traffic safety administration standards for low-speed vehicles in 49 C.F.R. 571.500.
The manufacturer’s certificate/statement of origin (MCO/MSO) must have the verbiage that the vehicle meets the LSV requirements and is roadworthy.